Wednesday 7 March 2012

Episode 17

Listen Here

1. Kevin Ayers — "Stars" (B-side of "Stranger in Blue Suede Shoes" single, 1971)

2. Soft Heap — "Circle Line" (from Soft Heap, 1979)

3. Lindsay Cooper — "Iceland" (from The Gold Diggers soundtrack, 1983)

4. Robert Wyatt — "Born Again Cretin" (from Nothing Can Stop Us, 1982)

5. Soft Machine — "Noisette" (live at the Henie Onstadt Arts Centre, Høvikodden, Norway, 1971-02-28)

6. Mike Ratledge "corporate sound" interview excerpt (from British TV documentary, c.1970)

7. Caravan — "Nine Feet Underground" [excerpt] (from remastered/remixed 40th anniversary edition of The Land of Grey and Pink, 1971)

8. The Polite Force — "Childsplay" (from Canterbury Knights, recorded 1976, released 1996)

9. Soft Heap — "A Veritable Centaur" (from A Veritable Centaur, recorded Bresse-sur-Grosne, France, March 1982, released 1995)

10. The Music Doctors (feat. Elton Dean and Lol Coxhill) — "Hugh's News" (from BBC Radio 3 broadcast, 1987)

11. Elton Dean and Mark Hewins — "Golden" (unreleased, 1988)

12. Hugh Hopper and Mark Hewins — "Vortex One" [excerpt] (from Adreamor, recorded at The Vortex Club, London 1994-04-03, released 1995)

13. Mark Hewins — "Aquafricare" [excerpt] (from The Electric Guitar, 1987)

14. Mashu — "Jus de Peche" (from Elephants in Your Head?, recorded live Paris, April 1995, released 1997)

15. Steve Miller/Phil Miller/Mark Hewins — improvisation (recorded live at Harlow, sometime in the 1990s)

16. Daevid Allen and Mark Hewins — improvised gliss/harmonic guitar duet (from Mexican Musicians Union seminar, Mexico City, 1999-06-07)

17. Goddess T (feat. Gilli Smyth) — "It's a Strange Place Here" (from Electric Shiatsu, 1999)

18. Lady June and friends — "Rebela" (from the work-in-progress album Rebela)

19. Alex Maguire, Mark Hewins and Chris Gartner — "Phil's Fillip" (work in progress, February 2012)

20. The Polite Force — "Birdsworld" (from Canterbury Knights, recorded 1977, released 1996)

21. Hatfield and the North — "Aigrette" → "Rifferama" (from Hatfield and the North, 1974)

22. Soft Machine — "Save Yourself" [excerpt/loop] (from The Soft Machine, 1968)

23. Ghostface Killah and Trife da God — "Milk Em'" [sic] (12" single, 2005)

24. Gong — "Hypnotise Yer" (B-side of "Est Que Je Suis" single, released in France, April 1970)

25. Zoo For You — "Shelves" (from Fast Dance on a Nail, 2012)

26. Kevin Ayers and Archibald — "Queen Thing" (from session for BBC Radio 1's Bob Harris Show, 1972-17-05)

[voiceover ambience: Hugh Hopper — "Churchy" (from Monster Band, recorded 1973, released 1978)]

errata and clarifications:

It turns out that in that live Soft Heap piece, John Greaves was reading from Chapter III of Lucas and Morrow's "1911 proto-dada classic" What a Life! An Autobiography.

I mistakenly claimed that the Ratledge interview excerpt was recorded at Bilzen Jazz Festival, and that this was in Germany. In fact, the interview comes from an unknown British TV documentary c. 1970 and Bilzen is in Belgium! Also, I mistakenly referred to the "1978 Soft Heap album", whereas it was in fact a 1979 album. My apologies to all Belgians and pedantic Soft Heap fans!

Mark Hewins' photo archive

Mark Hewins on Soundcloud

From a Pitchfork interview with Robert Wyatt:


Blogger Mmarsupilami said...

Hi, friend! What a nice blog!
Just a little errata : in point 6, Bilzen is in Belgium and not in Germany...

7 March 2012 at 10:23  
Blogger Gary A Lucas said...

I just loved Hugh Hopper's pedal demonstration with Mark Hewins on You Tube. I bet some of those have to be custom made now.


9 March 2012 at 05:56  
Blogger Rob said...

Hi again.
John Greaves, during National Health's appearance on The Old Grey Whistle Test, recited, as I remember, part of Peter Blegvad's song "You Can't Miss It' from album 'The Naked Shakespeare"
Something to the effect of
'.....Yellow Belly put curtains round a bush
so that it's flowers would die.
One evening he dug it up by the roots and struck ocean,
stuff gushed out,
by night he floated hill high in it,
soft yellow belly light guiding his dark design"

2 July 2012 at 05:58  
Blogger Matthew Watkins said...

Thanks, Rob. That National Health TV appearance (of "The Collapso") shows up in Canterbury Soundwaves Episode 16, as you've probably noticed.

2 July 2012 at 06:19  

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home